JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


Cingular is bullshit.
8:13 a.m.//07.22.05


Mood: Worn the hell out

Getting a job in recent times proves to be an immeasureably obnoxious task. The rings of fire that one's expected to jump through for an $11.00/hr job is highly ridiculous. I didn't apply for CEO of a fortune 500 company or apply for security clearance to nuclear silos or something--I applied to sell cell phones in a mall--a job I'm over-qualified for to begin with.

After going on the actual interview and filling out the online application, Cingular felt the need to verify almost every aspect of my existence with a 9278-point background check and urinalysis.

I had/have to show them my H.S. diploma, W2's and/or first and last day pay stubs, 700 reference numbers and all this other unnessescary bullshit.

Actually, you know what? I can understand some of that; after all, you don't want to hire some amazingly inept schlep that has access to a customer database chock full of SSN's.

However, I feel that it's Cingular's responsibility to research an applicant's background, meaning they should be doing 99.9% of the leg work. They're a huge corporation and I'm nearly positive that they could and should be able to reference your IRS information when needed. I feel I shouldn't have to run all over the place, make 90 different phone calls to get in contact with prior employers to ask them to send me my W2's (of which I don't have because... it's a long story) so that I may fax all of this information to Cingular, so that I may be privilaged enough to SELL CELL PHONES IN A MALL. How glamourous.

Now, here's where it gets really asinine--Cingular runs a credit check on their job applicants, and if it's not to their liking, they don't hire you. I can see how this would make sense to them, but I pose this thought: if in fact my credit is poor, perhaps it's reasoning lies upon the mere fact that I have no job to make the money that pays these credit card (etc) bills. But yet, I can't GET a job BECAUSE of my credit, furthering me into even poorer credit, as I have no income to pay my bills, and the worse my credit gets, the harder it is for me to get a job (at Cingular, at least).

That's something I like to call the Cycle of Bullshit.


[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep