JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


1991-1996
4:42 p.m.//07.15.05


Sound: Spacehog -- In The Meantime

I miss those summer nights circa 1993,1994,1995,1996, where I'd stay up all night, recording bits and pieces of shows and clips of bands videos and guest appearances wherever I could find them. I have literally hours upon hours of clips of this and that, whether it be old State episodes or a 20 second clip of Billy Corgan or Shannon Hoon on MTV News.

I was quite obsessive. I even have the 120 Minutes episode hosted by the Pumpkins back from 1991. What a great time in music. I doubt there will ever be a time in music like that ever again, to me at least, or possibly ever. But I digress.

No, I don't digress. In this shithole existence that I consider my life, few things make me more upheavaled with emotion and passion than music from 1988-1996. I feel so lucky and corny for feeling lucky to have been just old enough in that period of time to catch a strong grip of the delightfulness that was the early 90's alternative, indie and grudge scene. To me, music does not get any better, except for few exceptions in recent years.

I'd continually record bits and pieces of 120 minutes, and this obsession lasted quite a few years. I'd be at school, watching the clock tick so fucking slowly, as it usually does when you're overly-eager to get out. But I was looking forward to coming home and watching my tapes--the same exact ones I've seen 100 times each, easily, whereas most people were eager to leave to hang out with friends or do whatever.

FRIENDS?!?!? Who needs those. I have tapes.

Hmm...

Yeah, so. I had recorded the concert Green Day played in Chicago during the Dookie tour. I must have watched that concert nearly 500 times, and I'm not exxagerating. I'd come home from school, not do my homework, ever in fact, and put the Green Day concert on--watch it, rewind it, watch it again, rewind it again--the continuous cycle that I was in for nearly a full year. I'd watch it about 4 times a day on weekdays, and probably even more on weekends.

I did this same exact thing with a bootleg Pantera video I had gotten in 1993/1994. I think it was because I was completely wanting Phil Anselmo, severely. Wow. I remember going sledding as a kid, and listening to Vulgar Display on my shitty walkman that the batteries were taped in with electrical tape.

Those were some good times. The best, actually. I'd kill to have the attention span now that I had then. I'd love to tape things now, but now, there's nothing worth taping. And also VCR's are all but obsolete in the typical American home.


[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep