JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


35, no... wait, 31
11:15 a.m.//01.26.05


Mood: I have no idea yet
Sound: The hum of the computer fan

As I woke up and turned this bastard box on, I saw the headline of "35 Marines Lost in a Day". So, of course since Phil is over there, and stories like that make my nerves get all fucked up, I checked the story out as per usual.

I click the link, and the page it brings me to is titled "Marine Helicopter Crashes in Iraq, Killing 31". Where did the other 4 people go? It told me 35 before, but I guess they thought 35 was a nice, round number that would hook more people to read the article, and then they crossed their fingers and hoped that no one would catch that.

Well, someone caught it. Yeah, it's not a major discovery by any stretch of the imagination, but if looked at carefully enough, can speak volumes about our media and how they hype us up with fear and bloated facts.

What I don't understand is why AOL (yeah, I still use AOL out of no other choice at the moment) shows blown up statistics like that. Being a highly republican company as they and Time Warner are, I'd expect them to show the 31 and not expand it to 35. It's not as if the helicopter was shot down; it wasn't -- it crashed due to supposed faulty piloting in poor weather. I'm trying desperately to make some sense of it, but have turned up empty handed.




[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep