JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


Corporate America
8:02 a.m.//01.11.05


Mood: Disconnected
Random Quote: "I just don't need none of that Mad Max bullshit" -Modest Mouse

The time draws nearer and nearer -- the time to get a job. The thought of spending a considerable portion of my life in a place where I do not want to be, next to people whom I don't want to be next to, makes me feel like jumping from a high rise into electrified spikes.

Careers seem futile to me, but that's not saying much since I think most things are futile. I don't understand how this standard was set, and a pattern was created that mass produced billions of cookie-cutter citizens into thinking that the normal way of life is finding a career, staying at the same job for 30 years until it's time to retire, and anything other than this is preposterous and wrong.

Corporate jobs -- where you are expected to smile while you get handfulls of shit shoved in your mouth for you to feast upon, and it's not enough that you have to eat shit, you're also expected to enjoy it. The whole process of who you know, and how well you can kiss the higher-up's ass and disguise your antipathy for them, makes me realize I'd never succeed in that kind of enviornment. I cannot mask my contempt for someone, let alone have my nose shoved sideways up their ass.

It's not that I don't get along with others, because I do, embarassingly well; it's just that I'd rather not have to get along with others and that causes the friction for me.

What it boils down to is that lovable, huggable friend so close to my heart -- laziness. Laziness can often be accompanied by spoiledness, and the two together create an American-Dream-destroyer... good thing I'm not into the American Dream, eh?

The "American Dream" is much like Valentine's Day - V-day was a holiday invented by greeting card companies and florists to rake in some revenue, while the "American Dream" was an invention of capitalists and corporations to encourage people work towards this goal of owning your own house, cars, kids and as many material goods as possible, while they reap the benefits of your labor.

Most of our time is spent sleeping and spending 7-10+ hours a day, making money just to recycle it again into some type of purchase which leaves you with more bills and more dependence on a job.

But, don't be afeared; after eating shit in the corporate world for 30 years, you get to retire, and, if social security is even still available then, you could live the rest of your life out conveniently located close to one of the 2 shitty doctors listed on your HMO plan, because at that point you'll be so worn down from life that you'll have a laundry list of stress-related illnesses.

And remember to save your money well. Tell yourself that you're saving it for when you retire, so you can travel the world like you had dreamed of doing for so long, only this daydream is just masking the real destination of your money -- a nursing home. Get one with a nice atrium, if you have any say in the matter, that is.

I love being so optimistic. I'm really not THAT negative, I just enjoy being dramatic.




[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep