JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


Losing more than you've won
7:37 a.m.//10.28.04

The 2004 World Series has left me with this void now. It's not because I'm a Yankee fan or because I hate Boston; it's something deeper than that.

1918, in my mind, is the epitome of historical baseball lore. I felt it was the conjoining factor between old school baseball and new school, and if you know anything about baseball or are a big baseball fan, you know that the historical value of the game has a special place in our hearts. But last night, I feel this Boston win -- shattering that 86 year legacy, was like the cutting loose of old school baseball.

I may be getting too melodramatic, but I've been fearing for the game for a while, not exactly in love with what it has morphed into. The Yankees, unfortunately, are the biggest examples of this.

It's kind of difficult to explain. Take my love for abandoned places: part of the reason I enjoy these places so much are the lorish stories that just drip down from the walls; you know most likely they're not real stories, such as mental patients murdering the staff or farmers going crazy and killing, but you'd like to believe it's true because it touches you on a deeper level. Now picture if someone comes up to you with clippings of an old newspaper, telling you that there were no mental patients murdering the staff; that the building was abandoned simply because they re-located into another one; no foul play involved whatsoever -- this just takes away a lot of the emotion for you because that mystique is now gone.

The same goes for 1918. It's almost like Boston lost something bigger than what they won. They now have nothing that makes them special other than winning the WS, and it pushes us right into the deep end of neo-baseballism... I mean except for the Cubbies, and once the Cubs win the WS, there will be barely anything left that connects us to the baseball of yesteryear.

Maybe I'm just being too girly about all this, but then again, I think I'm one of the few girls that actually care deeply about baseball and think on these weird levels.


[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep