JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


Beck
4:27 a.m.//05.13.06

Mood: reflective
Sound: Beck -- Nobodies Fault But My Own
Location: Pete's house

I haven't heard this song since the latter part of 2000--Beck's Nobodies Fault But My Own. I haven't felt this particular feeling the song has invoked, in a long, long time. It reminds me of my first trip to Sacramento and the dream-like, wonderous time I had. It reminds me of the era right before the old Dena ceased to be.

Despite all that, the song makes me feel reflectively at ease. I feel the memory of the bright mid-day sun that seemed to mirror off the green and yellow colors of the nature preserve. It was overwhelmingly bright, but not bothersome, as I found the missing link to my long-needed serenity.

It reminds me of the long drive to the lighthouse; through all of the mountainous vineyards and communes of cattle along the highway. It was the most beautiful and spiritual drive I have ever taken. Everything was perfect. Everything was right. Everything in its right place.

I remember the cool summer nights in the backyard as we conversed for hours under some nesting screech owls. They didn't mind we were there, and nor did their presense intimidate or bother us.

But seriously, Mutations is such a brilliantly somber masterpiece. It puts aside the funk-rap-folk that is most well-known from Odelay and touches more on the contemplative and sedated side of Beck that I fell in love with in an entirely new way. Beck is most certainly one of the best artists of all time in my book. Not to mention extremely underrated.


[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep