JUDICIOUS, BEAUTIFUL, AUGMENTED WHATEVER


I hate casual talk
4:15 p.m.//02.07.05


Mood: Moody

I don't know what it is with people, but they love to ask you about your job, either if you're looking for one or how you're doing at your current job.

There are few topics more boring to me than talking about work or a job hunt, especially if you do not work with the person doing the asking. I'm referring to your casual, everyday asshole who asks just to simply ask; to feign an interest in my daily activity. Some people may fall for it, but I do not. I stop and say, "Listen, talking about our work is a boring topic, much like a boring business meeting. Even if I had the greatest job in the world, I wouldn't care to discuss it because it's BORING TO TALK ABOUT."

I don't know why, but it's just one of my stronger pet peeves and really irritates the hell out of me. Another good one is 'are you in school' ? No, I'm not in school, shut up -- that's also boring to talk about.

Some people need queue cards to come up with conversation that doesn't bore the absolute piss out of me.

Beyond that, I don't like just casual talk. I really have no interest in getting to know people because I can take one look at them and know basically what kind of person they are, and if they're talking about casual things like the weather outside, school or work, then they're not the type of person I'd like to talk to at all.

"This weather's crazy, eh? 'lotta rain! COLD, too! brrr!!!" -- just please shoot me. The ONLY way I care about weather talk is if it's intertwined in a conversation about the apocalypse, and how weird weather patterns are a sign of the end, else, please just stfu, kthnx.

When I worked at my last job, on Saturdays' I'd be in the office alone all day with one of the store owners. She was a complete tool, but I took a liking to her because she was a rude nutcase without braincell 1 in her head. She'd always go on about the most boring things; like the aforementioned. I'd completely ignore her and after a while, she'd know not to talk about the bastard weather with me.

Maybe I'm just weird and they see my topics as bullshit. I'm the type to just say outloud whatever question is on my mind, with absolutely no filter mechanism -- "Do you remember the smell of the blue gymnastic mats in elementary school?" -- and most people just look at me, except if I say it to my friends; they're used to it and actually don't find it to be an abnormal topic.

This is a shitty post, but I just wanted to do a simple rant about that, because 2 seconds ago, Myke was asking me about my job hunt and the temp agency I went to, and that sparked this post.

Thanks, Myke! ugh


[previous]������[forward]

[messeges]
[them]
[mistakes]
[current]

Free Counter
Counting bodies like sheep